I’ve been thinking about my home server today and I think I need some more RAM for it …

I was wondering when did I installed it and I’ve found it was born on 2008 !!

It’s a Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E8400  @ 3.00GHz with 4GB RAM.

I remember I was looking for a machine with VT support and some amount of RAM to get some virtualized machines.

I bought it everything separated: motherboard, ram, disks… And installed the operating system.

For the installation I had an old disk, a 40GB IDE disk that worked perfectly and nowadays it does, for Debian Etch (at that moment it was the stable version), and 2 1TB disks for RAID1 managed by the Linux mdadm.

I have upgraded the operating system without problems from v4, v5, v6 and finally v7 and added some more disks. Nowadays I have the same 40GB disk for the operation system and 4 more disks: 3 1TB for RAID5 and 1 500GB disk for backups.

 

Responder

