Cloning AIX machine (the alt_disk_mksysb way)

I usually run alt_disk_copy to clone machines to another disk but recently I had to use alt_disk_mksysb. I have always created mksysb bootable images so you can burn to a cd/dvd and boot and install your system, but this time I was provided with the mksysb FILE. I thought this image was an ISO image so in my VIO server I ran:

mkvopt -name mymksysbimage -file mksysb.FILE -ro

Then I maped this image to my client partition:

loadvopt -disk mymksysbimage -vtd vtopt0

I tried to boot my client but it failed. Then I realised that this was not an iso image and I must to use alt_disk_mksysb

After digging some time I realised of this:

# lsmksysb -lf mksysb.FILE
VOLUME GROUP:           rootvg
BACKUP DATE/TIME:       Mon May 10 00:29:07 CEST 2010
UNAME INFO:             AIX XXXXX 3 5 00C995E44C00
BACKUP OSLEVEL:         5.3.11.0
MAINTENANCE LEVEL:      5300-11
BACKUP SIZE (MB):       25088
SHRINK SIZE (MB):       7359
VG DATA ONLY:           no

rootvg:
LV NAME             TYPE       LPs     PPs     PVs  LV STATE      MOUNT POINT
hd5                 boot       1       2       2    closed/syncd  N/A
hd6                 paging     2       4       2    open/syncd    N/A
sistemas_lv         jfs        2       4       2    open/syncd    /sistemas
hd8                 jfs2log    1       2       2    open/syncd    N/A
hd4                 jfs2       1       2       2    open/syncd    /
hd2                 jfs2       15      30      2    open/syncd    /usr
hd9var              jfs2       1       2       2    open/syncd    /var
hd3                 jfs2       4       8       2    open/syncd    /tmp
hd1                 jfs2       1       2       2    open/syncd    /home
hd10opt             jfs2       4       8       2    open/syncd    /opt
fslv01              jfs2       16      32      2    open/syncd    /software
loglv14             jfslog     1       2       2    open/syncd    N/A

The problem were this “PP”, you know, this is “Physical Partitions”…. This mksysb image was made from a mirrored rootvg so if you want to create a system from this mksysb, you must provide alt_disk_mksysb with 2 disks. Then, my command runs this way:

# alt_disk_mksysb -B -O -m /home/padmin/mksysb/mksysb.FILE -d “hdisk35 hdisk36″

This is run inside my VIO server. It is actually running. After it finishes, I’ll map one of the disks to a client partition and I’ll try to boot.

Happy new year!

Responder

